Blogging Archaeology: November

blogging-archaeology-e1383664863497

At the 2014 Society for American Archaeology there is going to be an amazing session on Blogging Archaeology. The goal of this session will be to discuss the role blogging plays, how it changes archaeology, how we speak to the public and other topics related to this type of media. Leading up to it, Doug’s Archaeology is hosting a blogging carnival where blogging archaeologists can answer questions and participate in a broader discussion about blogging and archaeology.

This is how it works:

  • Every month leading to the SAA meeting in April, there will be a question posted on Doug’s Archaeology. Bloggers are invited to answer question on their personal blog.
  • Then, you link to the main page from Doug’s Archaeology and email him (drocksmacqueen@gmail.com) with your link.
  • At the end of the month, he will summarize the posts and add all the links.
  • If you are interested in hosting one of these, feel free to contact him!

November’s Question: Why blogging? Why did you start a blog? Why are you still blogging?

Why blogging? 

I started blogging mainly as a way to keep myself up to date with news and journal articles. As a grad student, it’s important to know the new developments in the field so that you can eloquently talk about the discipline and new finds, as well as plan your own dissertation by finding a gap in the discipline. I also knew that I was going to need to work on my writing, and my ability to constructively breakdown and critique scholarly articles. By doing this online, I get the chance to interact with different people, discuss new finds and interpretations, and engage in broader discussions with archaeologists. Further, by promising to an online audience that I’m going to write twice a week it forces me to read new different articles every week.

Why are you still blogging? 

While my original reasons for doing the blog remain- I still do it to keep myself up to date, there are new reasons that have kept me blogging over the last three years. Now I see blogging about archaeology as a way to provide an alternative perspective to popular news about the field. st started blogging? There are so many news sources that are discussing archaeology, and many of them twist the facts a little or choose only to discuss the sensational bits. I think archaeologist bloggers provide an important service by alerting the public about the truth behind these news posts. If a news site writes about something from a journal article, the archaeologists go to the original journal articles to find out the truth. This is especially true for mortuary related finds like ‘sacrificial pits’, the ‘Romeo and Juliet burial’ or most popular, ‘vampire burials’. It is important that people understand what these actually mean from the original sources, and we can provide that.

10 responses to “Blogging Archaeology: November

  1. I wholeheartedly agree with Kelly M. I always look forward to reading your posts (sorry if sometimes I give in to my less serious side and post something a bit silly in the comments section).

    Keep it up!

  2. Just my thought…it also gives you an opportunity to “teach” the public, answer their question, and learn the “layman’s” side of things. :) (Not that laymen give any intelligent insight! :D)

  3. Pingback: #blogarch November | Traces of the Past·

  4. Pingback: Why I Blog About Archaeology (and Tomb Raider) | The Archaeology of Tomb Raider·

  5. Pingback: Blogging Archaeology #BlogArch – All of the Responses to Why? | Doug's Archaeology·

  6. Hey Katy, we are looking for someone to write on all things archaeology for our magazine, Darling Magazine. Let me know if we can chat more. (tracy@darlingmgazine.org)

Leave a Reply

